top of page


South Carolina has four nuclear power facilities and two closely located in neighboring states. All South Carolina counties, except for five coastal counties (Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Dorchester and Georgetown) fall within the 10 or 50 mile emergency planning zones (EPZ) of at least one nuclear power plant . 

Anderson County is designated as an evacuation location in the event of a radiological event at the Oconee Nuclear Station and provides sheltering facilities for zones A-0, D-1, D-2, E-1, E-2, F-1 and F-2. Please refer to the Duke Energy Emergency Preparedness Guide for more information.


More information on Nuclear Power Stations in South Carolina:

Please reload

SC Nuclear Facilities Map
bottom of page